The Official blog of Mr Dave

From Associated Content to RuneScape and the weather outside, there’s always something to see.

Metal Inflation

Posted by Mr Dave AC on June 13, 2008

June 13th, 2008: Buying metal and ores this week has become increasingly more difficult. Iron Ore has rose from 95gp to 105gp. Iron Bars have jumped from 227gp to 253 gp. Coal has jumped from 186gp to 213 gp. Steel bars have jumped from 612gp to 752gp. Mith ores have increased in value, but today actually fell a gp to 196 gp. Abar of mithril is valued at 1,233gp, up from 1,060 gp. The other money making commodities have not risen in value.

     To revisit my earlier calculations about smithing for a profit, they stand at:

Iron ore to Iron Bars (Assuming 50% success:) 43gp per bar, 120% return on initial investment.

Iron ore and coal to steel: 221gp per bar, 141% return on investment.

Mithril and coal to Mith bar: 185gp per bar, 118% return on investment.

Steel seems to be the most lucrative way to currently pump the money, but the manufacturing of Iron Bars is essential. Because the idea is to buy the Iron for the best smithing XP, the price of Iron will skyrocket if not enough Iron is sold to meet demand. But what’s the point of selling the Iron to buy it all over again? May as well smith it. Then how am I going to finance my character? May as well sell the steel and buy the iron or just put up with the length of time it takes to smelt the Iron. Or get my mage to 43, and pay 300gp for the runes per Iron ore to save 105 gp worth of Iron. That’s paying 195gp for 53 points of magic XP.

4 Responses to “Metal Inflation”

  1. mrdave96 said

    I will add both sn’s to my friends list then. Thanks.

    The blue type is actually a link. I know, but at least it works.

    Check out to view my initial article on RuneScape. I wrote four articles about getting started on RuneScape and they are currently in the process of being published and should be out any day.

  2. jj said

    ok cool! my usernames in game are jball851 and stretch851.

  3. MrDave96 said

    JJ: Thanks for visiting my blog! The entire game has changed since the grand exchange was established and a lot of my money sources became no longer viable—-I will put up a new post and you can reply to it with your huge comment. Then if you want we can chat runescape afterwards on the post and share methods of how the game works.

  4. jj said

    hey i got a bunch of stuff for you to publish because my parents won’t let me write a blog.i’ve played for over 4years and know how to make money for f2p.if it’s okay i’ll write in your next post a huge comment.thank you.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
